Scientific Advisory Committee

The Executive Board is supported by a Scientific Advisory Committee. This Committee is encouraged to advise the foundation’s Executive Board on the development of medium- and long-term goals as well as in the decision making process on funding measures. It is also supposed to develop recommendations for the selection and prioritization of projects in line with the foundation’s purpose and objectives as well as for the allocation of funding.

The Scientific Advisory Committee is composed of recognized experts from relevant disciplines in pharmaceutical sciences. Prof. Werner Weitschies, PhD from the University of Greifswald was appointed chairman of the Committee.

Prof. Dr. Werner Weitschies

Prof. Dr. Werner Weitschies

Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee

Werner Weitschies is Professor of Biopharmaceutics at the University of Greifswald, Germany. He studied Pharmacy at the Free University of Berlin (1983-1987) and received his Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Technology in 1990. From 1990 to 1995 he worked as a scientist in the research laboratories of Schering AG in Berlin in the field of injectable microparticulate contrast agents for ultrasound. From 1996 to 1998 he was head of a research department in the field of medical applications of magnetic nanoparticles at the Institute for Diagnostic Research of the Free University of Berlin. In 1998 he was appointed Professor of Pharmaceutical Technology at the Institute of Pharmacy in Greifswald, Germany.

His main research areas are the investigation of the interplay between physiology and drug delivery systems with focus on the gastrointestinal tract, and the development of nanoparticle based techniques for molecular imaging and physical therapy.

He is author or co-author of more than 270 scientific articles and 31 patents.

Universität Leipzig, Medizinische Fakultät, Leiter der Selbstständigen Abteilung für Klinische Pharmakologie am Rudolf-Boehm-Institut für Pharmakologie und Toxikologie

Prof. Dr. Achim Aigner

Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee

University Leipzig, Medical School, Head of the Independent Department of Clinical Pharmacology at the Rudolf-Boehm-Institute for Pharmacology and Toxicology

Portrait Prof. Charlotte Kloft

Prof. Dr. Charlotte Kloft

Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee

Free University of Berlin, Institute of Pharmacy, Department of Clinical Pharmacy & Biochemistry


Prof. Dr. Peter Langguth

Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee

Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Institute for Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences, Department of Pharmaceutical Technology and Biopharmacy

Prof. Dr. Hermann Wätzig

Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee

Technical University of Braunschweig
Faculty of Life Sciences
Institute for Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry

zum Seitenanfang