Welcome to the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines

© Vink Fan / Adobe Stock

Every day, medicinal products make a decisive contribution to prevent diseases – especially serious ones – or alleviating ailments, extending the life expectancy of patients and improving their quality of life. In addition to our high expectations of the efficacy and safety of medicines, the pharmaceutical quality of the products is also particularly important with regard to patient care.

The Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (FFQM) is committed to promoting research activities that are designated to optimally assure the quality of medicinal products in Germany and Europe or, if necessary, further improving them, especially if they are manufactured outside the country. Main concern is the development of advanced processes, the implementation of innovative technologies and their standardization as well as a critical verification of quality assurance concepts.

Download the FFQM flyer here (PDF-File, ~200kB)

Recent news

April 17, 2024 · Prices and Awards

Pearls of Bioequivalence Award 2024 goes to Prof. James Polli

We congratulate Professor James E. Polli, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Maryland, School of Pharmacy, who is this year’s winner of the Pearls of Bioequivalence Award. The prize is awarded jointly by the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (FFQM) and the European Federation for Pharmaceutical Sciences (EUFEPS). The award goes to the publication of Prof. Polli:

“Lack of an Effect of Polysorbate 80 on Intestinal Drug Permeability“, Pharmaceutical Research (2022) 39:1881–1890 https://doi.org/10.1007/s11095-022-03312-zis

This prize was awarded at the Global Bioequivalence Harmonization Initiative (GBHI) conference on April 16 in Rockville/MD by the Chairman of the foundation’s Board, Professor Henning Blume.

Read more

April 11, 2024 · News

“Medicinal products with pH-dependent solubility - A problem for BA/BE assessment?” FFQM enables Open Access to this ICH M13A commentary.

We are pleased that, following the conference report on the EUFEPS Open Forum on the ICH M13A Draft Guideline (https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ejps.2024.106741), a commentary on the draft guideline „Medicinal products with pH-dependent solubility – A problem for BA/BE assessment? has now also been published in the European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences. The FFQM has sponsored open access to the article in order to provide free access to all scientists interested in optimizing drug quality.
The publication can be accessed at
https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ejps.2024.106756

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

March 17, 2024 · Prices and Awards

Hans-Günter-Schäfer Award 2024

„I hope you will take this award as motivation for your future research as a scientist“. With these words, the Chairman of the Frankfurt Foundation congratulates this year’s winner of the Hans Günter Schäfer Science Award, Ms. Yomna Nassar (Freie Universität Berlin). The prize, endowed with 1,000 euros, is sponsored by the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (FFQM).

The award was presented on 15 March on the occasion of the PKPD expert meeting in Isny, which is organized by the Association for Applied Human Pharmacology (AGAH). The past president of the AGAH, Dr. Andreas Kovar, and this year’s chairman of the meeting, Dr. Alexander Staab, present the prize to Yomna Nassar after her summary of the main results of the award-winning publication.

Read more

March 10, 2024 · News

Open Forum on ICH draft Bioequivalence Guideline: Conference Report published

We are happy to announce that the Conference Report of the EUFEPS Open Forum on the ICH draft M13A guideline (Bioequivalence) has been published and the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines could support this by funding its open access publication.

The paper can be downloaded via: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ejps.2024.106741

March 5, 2024 · News

Quality of Medicines Award 2024 announced.

The Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (FFQM) and the German Pharmaceutical Society (DPhG) jointly award the the Quality of Medicines prize 2024 for outstanding scientific achievements in the field of optimizing and ensuring the quality of drugs. We would like to support fundamental investigations into the quality of drugs on the market as well as innovative concepts to improve them.

Applications can be submitted electronically to the DPhG office (info@dphg.de) or to the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (info@frankfurt-foundation.org) until July 15, 2024.

Read more

January 29, 2024 · Funding Projekts

Funding project successfully completed: “Detection of unexpected impurities in finished medicinal products”

We are pleased that this project, funded by our foundation and led by Prof. Dr. Oliver Scherf-Clavel, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, was successfully concluded with very positive new findings. The results were recently published in the Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpba.2023.115955

The accidental discovery of unexpected contaminants may result in a drug recall. Basically, the question of which contaminants are discovered is determined by the choice of analytical method. Therefore, quality control procedures often fail to detect unexpected contaminants.

Using losartan as an example, the project looked for previously undescribed contaminants by combining an untargeted screening method with high-resolution mass spectrometry. In this way, the presence of N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP) and another impurity from the synthesis could be revealed and four further impurities could be detected through a subsequent targeted evaluation using extracted ion chromatograms. Through such combined analysis approaches, changes in the quality of medicines can be detected early and responded to accordingly.

Read more

Kreis
zum Seitenanfang
Q

Willkommen bei der Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines

© Africa Studio / Adobe Stock

Arzneimittel leisten tagtäglich einen entscheidenden Beitrag, um Erkrankungen – vor allem auch schwerwiegende – zu heilen bzw. Beschwerden zu lindern, die Lebenserwartung von Patienten zu verlängern und deren Lebensqualität zu verbessern. Neben hohen Erwartungen an die Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit der Medikamente kommt vor allem auch der Qualität der Arzneimittel ein hoher Stellenwert im Hinblick auf die Patientenversorgung zu.

Die Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (FFQM) engagiert sich für die Förderung von Forschungsaktivitäten, die dazu beitragen, die Qualität von Arzneimitteln in Deutschland optimal zu sichern und ggf. weiter zu verbessern, auch wenn die Herstellung außerhalb des Landes erfolgt. Zentrales Anliegen ist dabei die Erforschung neuer Verfahren sowie die Implementierung innovativer Technologien und Standardisierungsansätze inklusive der kritischen Bewertung von Qualitätssicherungskonzepten.

Laden Sie hier den FFQM-Flyer herunter! (PDF-Datei, ca. 200kB)

Aktuelle Informationen

17. April 2024 · Preise und Ehrungen

Pearls of Bioeqivalence Award 2024 für Prof. James Polli

Wir gratulieren Professor James E. Polli, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Maryland, School of Pharmacy, der diesjähriger Preisträger des Pearls of Bioequivalence Award ist. Der Preis wird gemeinsam von der Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (FFQM) und der European Federation for Pharmaceutical Sciences (EUFEPS) vergeben. Ausgezeichnet wurde die Publikation von Prof. Polli: “Lack of an Effect of Polysorbate 80 on Intestinal Drug Permeability“, Pharmaceutical Research (2022) 39:1881–1890 https://doi.org/10.1007/s11095-022-03312-z

Der Preis für 2024 wurde im Rahmen der Global Bioequivalence Harmonization Initiative (GBHI) Konferenz am 16. April in Rockville/MD durch den Vorstandsvorsitzenden der Stiftung, Professor Henning Blume verliehen.

Lesen Sie hier weiter

11. April 2024 · Aktuelles und Nachrichten

“Medicinal products with pH-dependent solubility—A problem for BA/BE assessment?” FFQM sponsort Open Access für die Publikation

Wir freuen uns, dass nach dem Conference Report zum EUFEPS Open Forum zur ICH M13A Draft Guideline (https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ejps.2024.106741) nun auch ein Kommentar zu dem Leitlinien-Entwurf „Medicinal products with pH-dependent solubility – A problem for BA/BE assessment? im European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences veröffentlicht wurde. Um allen an einer Optimierung der Arzneimittelqualität interessierten Wissenschaftlern den freien Zugang zu dem Artikel zu ermöglichen, hat die FFQM den Open Access gespondort.

Wir freuen uns, dass nach dem Conference Report zum EUFEPS Open Forum zur ICH M13A Draft Guideline (https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ejps.2024.106741) nun auch ein Kommentar zu dem Leitlinien-Entwurf „Medicinal products with pH-dependent solubility – A problem for BA/BE assessment? im European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences veröffentlicht wurde. Um allen an einer Optimierung der Arzneimittelqualität interessierten Wissenschaftlern den freien Zugang zu dem Artikel zu ermöglichen, hat die FFQM den Open Access gespondort.

Die Publikation kann abgerufen werden unter:

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ejps.2024.106756

17. März 2024 · Preise und Ehrungen

Hans-Günter-Schäfer-Wissenschaftspreis 2024 verliehen

„Ich hoffe, Sie verstehen diese Auszeichnung als Motivation für zukünftige Forschung als Wissenschaftler“. Mit diesen Worten gratuliert der Vorsitzende der Frankfurt Foundation der diesjährigen Preisträgerin des Hans-Günter-Schäfer-Wissenschaftspreises Frau Yomna Nassar (Freie Universität Berlin). Die mit 1.000 Euro dotierte Auszeichnung wird von der Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (FFQM) gestiftet.

Die Übergabe des Preises fand am 15. März anlässlich des PKPD-Expertentreffens in Isny statt, das von der Arbeitsgemeinschaft für angewandte Humanpharmakologie (AGAH) veranstaltet wird. Der Pastpräsident der AGAH, Dr. Andreas Kovar, und der Chairman des diesjährigen Treffens, Dr. Alexander Staab, überreichen Yomna Nassar nach ihrer Präsentation der ausgezeichneten Publikation den Preis.

Lesen Sie hier weiter

10. März 2024 · Aktuelles und Nachrichten

Open Forum on ICH draft Bioequivalence Guideline: Konferenz Report veröffentlicht

Der Konferenzbericht des EUFEPS Open Forum zum ICH-Leitlinienentwurf M13A (Bioäquivalenz) wurde kürzlich veröffentlicht. Die Frankfurt Foundation hat die Open-Access-Veröffentlichung finanziert. Das Papier kann über heruntergeladen werden:

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ejps.2024.106741

5. März 2024 · Aktuelles und Nachrichten

Ausschreibung: DPhG Preis zur Förderung der Arzneimittelqualität 2024

Gemeinsam mit der Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines verleiht die DPhG den Preis zur Förderung der Arzneimittelqualität für herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Optimierung und Sicherung der Qualität von Arzneimitteln. Mit dem Preis sollen grundlegende Untersuchungen zur Qualität von Arzneimitteln am Markt ebenso gewürdigt werden wie innovative Konzepte zu deren Verbesserung.

Bewerbungen können bis zum 15. Juli 2024 elektronisch entweder bei der DPhG-Geschäftsstelle (info@dphg.de) oder der Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (info@frankfurt-foundation.org) eingereicht werden.

Lesen Sie hier weiter

29. Januar 2024 · Förderprojekte

Förderprojekt erfolgreich abgeschlossen: „Detektion unerwarteter Verunreinigungen in Fertigarzneimitteln“

Wir freuen uns, dass dieses von unserer Stiftung geförderte Projekt unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Oliver Scherf-Clavel, Ludwigs-Maximilian-Universität München, mit sehr positiven neuen Erkenntnissen erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden konnte. Die Ergebnisse sind kürzlich im Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis publiziert worden: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpba.2023.115955

Die zufällige Entdeckung unerwarteter Verunreinigungen kann zu einem Rückruf des Arzneimittels führen. Grundsätzlich wird die Frage, welche Verunreinigungen entdeckt werden, durch die Wahl der analytischen Methode bestimmt. Daher werden mit Hilfe der Verfahren der Qualitätskontrolle unerwartete Verunreinigungen oft nicht erkannt.

Bei dem Projekt wurde am Beispiel Losartan durch Kombination einer ungezielten Screening-Methode mit der hoch-auflösenden Massenspektrometrie nach bislang nicht beschriebenen Verunreinigungen gesucht. Auf diese Weise konnte das Vorhandensein von N-Methyl-2-pyrrolidon (NMP) und einer weiteren Verunreinigung aus der Synthese aufgedeckt werden und durch eine anschließende gezielte Auswertung mit Hilfe extrahierter Ionenchromatogramme noch vier weitere Verunreinigungen nachgewiesen werden. Durch solche kombinierten Analyseansätze können Veränderungen in der Qualität von Arzneimitteln frühzeitig erkannt und entsprechend darauf reagiert werden.

Lesen Sie hier weiter

Kreis
zum Seitenanfang
Q