April 11, 2024

“Medicinal products with pH-dependent solubility - A problem for BA/BE assessment?” FFQM enables Open Access to this ICH M13A commentary.

We are pleased that, following the conference report on the EUFEPS Open Forum on the ICH M13A Draft Guideline (, a commentary on the draft guideline „Medicinal products with pH-dependent solubility – A problem for BA/BE assessment? has now also been published in the European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences. The FFQM has sponsored open access to the article in order to provide free access to all scientists interested in optimizing drug quality.
The publication can be accessed at

Translated with (free version)

March 10, 2024

Open Forum on ICH draft Bioequivalence Guideline: Conference Report published

We are happy to announce that the Conference Report of the EUFEPS Open Forum on the ICH draft M13A guideline (Bioequivalence) has been published and the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines could support this by funding its open access publication.

The paper can be downloaded via:

March 5, 2024

Quality of Medicines Award 2024 announced.

The Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (FFQM) and the German Pharmaceutical Society (DPhG) jointly award the the Quality of Medicines prize 2024 for outstanding scientific achievements in the field of optimizing and ensuring the quality of drugs. We would like to support fundamental investigations into the quality of drugs on the market as well as innovative concepts to improve them.

Applications can be submitted electronically to the DPhG office ( or to the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines ( until July 15, 2024.

Read more

March 5, 2023

Lifetime Achievement Award 2023 goes to Prof. Benet

The Board of Directors of the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines, together with its Scientific Advisory Committee, has decided to honor Professor Leslie Z. Benet, PhD from the University of California San Francisco with the Foundation’s Lifetime Achievement Award for 2023.

This recognizes Professor Benet’s extraordinary achievements in the field of pharmaceutical science and his outstanding contributions to improving the quality and effectiveness of medicines. As a result of his scientific work, Leslie Benet has received numerous awards throughout his scientific career as well as honorary doctorates from nine universities

The award ceremony will take place on May 15, 2023, as part of a scientific congress organized by EUFEPS (European Federation for Pharmaceutical Sciences) on the draft of the first bioequivalence guideline of the International Council for Harmonization of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH) in Frankfurt am Main.


Read more

October 25, 2022

Paxlovid stability confirmed

The results of the stability studies initiated by the FFQM on Paxlovid tablets available on the market have now been published in Deutsche Apotheker Zeitung No. 42 of October 20th, 2022, p. 3708-9. The content was determined by high performance liquid chromatography with tandem mass spectrometer detection. The mean content of nirmatrelvir was determined to be 100.3%, i.e. there is no evidence of any relevant degradation of the active substance. The investigations were carried out at the Institute for Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Research, Nuremberg-Heroldsberg.

October 15, 2022

Shelf-life extension Paxlovid® – the rationale alternative to discarding expired batches

Do the Paxlovid® packs already delivered to pharmacies and medical practices need to be discarded timely or by the beginning of 2023 at the latest if the printed shelf-life has been expired? Media reports revealed that the federal government had stockpiled large quantities of the product at the end of 2021 as a precaution in order to avoid a bottleneck in the supply of the patients. However, the prescription rate fell short of expectations in the first nine months, with the result that a number of packs will expire in November 2022 or early 2023.

However, discarding is not inevitable. Rather, a shelf-life extension would be possible in case of proven longer stability in “follow-up” stability tests. Against this background, the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines initiated investigations into the stability of Paxlovid® tablets collected from the market. The results did not indicate a decrease in the labelled content of active drug ingredient nirmatrelvir or increased levels of degradation products. Therefore, in a published statement, we have suggested extending the expiry date for the packs that have already been delivered, based on the results of follow-up stability investigations conducted by the manufacturer.

Read more

October 1, 2021

Dr. Oliver Scherf-Clavel received the "Quality of Medicines Award"

The „Preis zur Förderung der Arzneimittelqualität“ was awarded for the first time in October. The award winner is junior professor Dr. Oliver Scherf-Clavel.

Read more

zum Seitenanfang