November 13, 2021

Lifetime Achievement Award of the foundation: Professor Emeritus Dr. Josè Morais, University Lisbon awarded

In a ceremony on November 13, 2021, the Frankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines (FFQM) awarded the „Lifetime Achievement Award“ for the first time for exceptional scientific contributions to the optimization of drug quality. With this prize, the special merits of the award winner Professor Emeritus Dr. Josè Augusto Guimarães Morais, University of Lisbon, were recognized for the development of regulatory criteria for the comparative assessment of the bioavailability of systemic drugs. As a member of the European Approval Commission CPMP/CHMP and chairman of an EU expert group, Professor Morais made significant contributions to the introduction of guidelines on bioavailability and bioequivalence at EU level. „We are very pleased that we can award the prize to such an outstanding scientist,“ explains the founder and chairman of the foundation, Professor Dr. Henning Blume, who has been committed to promoting drug quality himself for many years.

The foundation has chosen a Gömböc as the award sculpture whose invention, after years of research, has confirmed a mathematical hypothesis and stands for persistence in research and innovation through targeted engagement with the intended goal. The Gömböc is a self-erecting three-dimensional body with a homogeneous mass distribution, similar to a roly-poly toy, but which owes its property to an uneven weight distribution.

The elogy for the award winner was given by Professor Dr. Dieter Steinhilber, President of EUFEPS (European Federation for Pharmaceutical Sciences). Professor Dr. Jennifer Dressman emphasized in her keynote lecture „Quality of medicinal products – why is this essential?“ the importance of the quality of pharmaceuticals for patient care.

The ceremony was taken as an occasion, junior professor Dr. Oliver Scherf-Clavel from the Institute for Pharmacy and Food Safety at the University of Würzburg, who received the joint „Prize for the Promotion of Drug Quality“ from the FFQM and the German Pharmaceutical Society (DPhG) on the occasion of the virtual annual meeting of the DPhG on October 1st, 2021, his certificate to be handed over personally.The laudator Professor Dr. Dagmar Fischer, President of the DPhG and member of the board of the FFQM, emphasized the importance of innovative quality criteria for drugs, especially in the areas of generics and biosimilars.


zum Seitenanfang